Would You Read This?

I started a new dark romance novel, but I’ve been really struggling with whether writing is worth it. I love writing and bringing characters to life and hearing about how people related to them or how much my writing helped them get through something, but I feel like less people are reading my stuff. I published a new book in a series and so far it hasn’t sold anything. Which is fine. I never wrote/write for money. Writing fanfics is different in the way that your readers share pieces of themselves with you, they react to what you write, they share their feelings, and you get to know them as not just readers but as friends. With writing novels… I feel like I’m writing to a wall because no one talks back, no one shares their feelings or stories. It becomes to the point where, yes, I’m writing what I love, but I want others to enjoy it too. I want to know what others think and I want to know what they were reminded of. So, I start to lose confidence that I’m even good at what I’m doing. I know my writing has been not as great as it used to be. I’ve fought battles against myself on it and just gone “Welp, it’s good enough.” I just want to love writing again. ^-^ I’ve been writing a long…. time, and I just miss the love for it. This book that this piece is from… I’m having fun writing it, but the fact it won’t be read kind of makes me question why I’m doing it. XD

Leave a comment